Skip to Main Content
Milton Public Library
LibGuides
Celebrating Black History Month
Home
Search this Guide
Search
Celebrating Black History Month: Home
Celebrate Black history, culture and stories with this collection of books and online resources. Includes reading lists for adults and children
Home
Children's books
Books
James
by
Percival Everett
There's Always This Year
by
Hanif Abdurraqib
Moonrise over New Jessup
by
Jamila Minnicks
Master Slave Husband Wife
by
Ilyon Woo
The Love Songs of W. E. B. du Bois
by
Honorée Fanonne Jeffers
The Nickel Boys (Winner 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
by
Colson Whitehead
Medgar and Myrlie
by
Joy-Ann Reid
John Lewis
by
Raymond Arsenault
The Heaven and Earth Grocery Store
by
James McBride
Black Caesars and Foxy Cleopatras
by
Odie Henderson
Black TV
by
Bethonie Butler
Civil Rights Queen
by
Tomiko Brown-Nagin
Call Us What We Carry
by
Amanda Gorman
The Other Black Girl
by
Zakiya Dalila Harris
What We Lose
by
Zinzi Clemmons
Their Eyes Were Watching God
by
Zora Neale Hurston
Jazz
by
Toni Morrison
Salvage the Bones
by
Jesmyn Ward
Black Joy
by
Tracey Michae'l Lewis-Giggetts
Coretta
by
Coretta Scott King; Barbara Reynolds
The African Lookbook
by
Catherine E. McKinley; Jacqueline Woodson (Foreword by); Edwidge Danticat (Foreword by)
The Cooking Gene
by
Michael W. Twitty
Jane Crow
by
Rosalind Rosenberg
The Compton Cowboys
by
Walter Thompson-Hernandez
Hidden Figures
by
Margot Lee Shetterly
The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks
by
Jeanne Theoharis
March
by
John Lewis; Andrew Aydin
Red at the Bone
by
Jacqueline Woodson
National Museum of African American History & Culture | Smithsonian
Celebrate Black History Month 2025
African Americans and Labor.
GBH collection
Honoring Black History Month
Library of Congress exhibits and events
Black History Month
Black Life in America article research database
Black Life in America
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.
[Login with your library card].
Kanopy film collection
Black History streaming video collection
Freegal streaming music playlist
Black History Month Playlist
Books
Better Living Through Birding
by
Christian Cooper
The Rise: Kobe Bryant and the Pursuit of Immortality
by
Mike Sielski
Jubilee
by
Toni Tipton-Martin
The Source of Self-Regard
by
Toni Morrison
To the Promised Land
by
Michael K. Honey
Year of Yes
by
Shonda Rhimes
A Promised Land
by
Barack Obama
Revolution in Our Time: the Black Panther Party's Promise to the People
by
Kekla Magoon
Muhammad Ali Unfiltered
by
Muhammad Ali
Showdown
by
Wil Haygood
Rickey and Robinson
by
Roger Kahn
Sweet Home Café Cookbook
by
NMAAHC; Jessica B. Harris (Contribution by); Albert Lukas (Contribution by); Jerome Grant (Contribution by); Lonnie G. Bunch III (Preface by)
OverDrive/Libby eBooks & audiobooks
Celebrating Black Voices
Black History
Hoopla digital collection
Black History Month
E-books, audiobooks, music & movies
OverDrive/Libby Boston Public Library collection
Celebrate Black History Month
Young adult books
Twenty-Four Seconds from Now ...
by
Jason Reynolds
Black Girl You Are Atlas
by
Renée Watson; Ekua Holmes (Illustrator)
Black Birds in the Sky
by
Brandy Colbert
A Few Red Drops
by
Claire Hartfield
And We Rise
by
Erica Martin
Books
The Kneeling Man
by
Leta McCollough Seletzky
Becoming Ella Fitzgerald
by
Judith Tick
The Tigerbelles
by
Aime Alley Card
The American Queen
by
Vanessa Miller
For the Culture
by
Klancy Miller
American Wings
by
Sherri L. Smith; Elizabeth Wein
Hell of a Book
by
Jason Mott
Twice As Hard
by
Jasmine Brown
The Light We Carry
by
Michelle Obama
Libertie
by
Kaitlyn Greenidge
The Warmth of Other Suns
by
Isabel Wilkerson
Transcendent Kingdom
by
Yaa Gyasi
Beyoncé in Formation
by
Omise'eke Tinsley
Finding Me
by
Viola Davis
Frederick Douglass
by
David W. Blight
A Black Women's History of the United States
by
Daina Ramey Berry; Kali Nicole Gross
Four Hundred Souls
by
Ibram X. Kendi (Editor); Keisha N. Blain (Editor)
Freedom Summer
by
Bruce Watson
The Blood of Emmett Till
by
Timothy B. Tyson
The 1619 Project
by
Nikole Hannah-Jones (Created by); The New The New York Times Magazine (Created by); Caitlin Roper (Editor); Ilena Silverman (Editor); Jake Silverstein (Editor)
High on the Hog
by
Jessica B. Harris
Shirley Chisholm
by
Anastasia C. Curwood
Next:
Children's books >>
