Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library of Things: Fun & Learning

A guide to the non-traditional items available for checking out at the Milton Public Library

Counting STEM Kit

  • includes 2 books, 1 toy, 1 laminated activity card and carrying bag
  • hands-on learning topic: counting
  • recommended for early learners/ ages 2-5

Replacement cost: $50

Math STEM Kit

  • includes 2 books, 1 toy, 1 laminated activity card and carrying bag
  • hands-on learning topic: math
  • recommended for early learners / ages 2-5

Replacement cost: $50

American Girl doll

  • includes 18" doll, book and hair clip-in

Replacement cost: $178.00

Little Bits

  • build your own sound machines
  • connects to speakers, computers and headphones
  • take the modules in the kit, add craft supplies, everyday items, or other toys or building sets to create great electronic projects - over 500 circuit combinations

Weight STEM Kit

  • includes 2 books, 1 toy, 1 laminated activity card and carrying bag
  • hands-on learning topic: weight
  • recommended for early learners/ ages 2-5

Replacement cost: $50

Robotic dog

  • puppy-like movement and sounds
  • designed to bring comfort, companionship, and fun

Replacement cost: $130.00

Digital microscope

  • compatible with Windows, MAC, Linux
  • 2.0 Megapixels, up to 250x magnification 

Replacement cost: $40.00

Makey Makey Invention Kit

  • turn everyday objects (such as bananas!) into keys for your computer
  • contains: 1 makey makey board, 7 alligator cables, 1 USB cord, 6 connector wires, instructions sheet

Measurement STEM Kit

  • includes 2 books, 1 toy, 1 laminated activity card and carrying bag
  • hands-on learning topic: measurement
  • recommended for early learners/ ages 2-5

Replacement cost: $50

Robotic cat

  • cat-like movement and sounds 
  • designed to bring comfort, companionship, and fun 

Replacement cost: $106.00

Telescope

  • includes telescope, travel pillows, lens cap, viewing lens in focuser, user guide, Audobon constellation book, headlight, users manual

Replacement cost: $375

Ozobot

  • simple, fun and engaging introduction to programming
  • control robot with markers, and then master with activities and program your own games
  • includes Ozobot, 4 markers, USB connector, Ozobot cover, instructions/activities packet

Building STEM Kit

  • includes 2 books, 1 toy, 1 laminated activity card and carrying bag
  • hands-on learning topic: building
  • recommended for early learners/ ages 2-5

Replacement cost: $50

Dash coding robot

  • Kids can give Dash Robot voice commands and explore loops, events, conditions, and sequences with the five free apps that come with Dash Robot.

Replacement cost: $150.00

Electronic Snap Circuits Toy

  • uses building blocks with snaps to build different electrical and electronic circuits in over 100 projects
  • build working models of a photo sensor, a flashing light, and an adjustable-volume siren
  • includes project manual and 30 snap modules

Laser Tag

  • 4 pack/multiplayer set
  • No need for a vest; the blaster is the target
  • Contains: 4 laser tag guns, 1 instructions manual

Policies

Circulation Policy

  • In order to borrow an item, a patron must be a Milton resident aged 18 years or older, have a valid OCLN library card and be in good standing, and sign a borrower agreement
  • 14 day loan period
  • Overdue fines are $5 per day
  • Items are available to be checked out and returned in person at the MPL Reference Desk or via curbside services arranged in advance. Items may not be returned via book drop or at another OCLN Library.
  • Items are limited to one at a time per patron

Borrower Policy

  • The Library is not responsible for any costs incurred or damage to personal equipment while borrowers use the items or for the security of connected patron devices.
  • Borrowers are responsible for the safe-keeping and return of these items to the library in good working order and assume liability for the equipment and packaging while it is in their care. Borrower is responsible for damaged and/or missing pieces. See individual item descriptions for replacement costs.
  • The Library does its best to provide clean and fully functional equipment, but is not responsible for unforeseen hardware or software failure.
  • The Library reserves the right to remotely disable any Chromebook that is overdue or has been reported lost.